A therapist is like a cab driver

I’ve been away for quite some time, still trying to be true to my original intent to post only original content that’s new here & not a rehash. I’ve broken the rule a few times when I thought there was something really worth it, but mostly not. And I have to admit that this is something I heard,not my own original content, but it’s so important that I just wanted to put it up.

Image result for taxi cab

The title basically says it, and I heard the saying at a training. The presenter pointed out that (good) therapists are like cab drivers– you can only take someone where they want to go. You can offer different routes, make various recommendations, but you can’t take someone where you, the therapist, want them to go– that’s kidnapping.

By the same token, you can decline to take someone to a place you refuse to go– say, if some parents come and want you to do “reparative” therapy on their gay kid, something all the therapists I know would reject. Or if you, the cab driver/therapist don’t know how to get there, for example, referring someone to a hypnotherapist if one is not trained in it & that’s what the client wants.

Is your therapist a good cab driver?

image from wikipedia.org

About jamesmatter

Marriage and Family Therapist (MFT) in private practice in San Francisco. I work with adults, adolescents, and couples, with focus on substance use and abuse and co-occurring disorders (having both a mental illness and an addiction).
This entry was posted in behavioral health, choices, mental health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

