One Thing Leads to Another

I was listening to the Beatles’ Here Comes the Sun in the car and was thinking about how much I like that tune– like millions of other people. And I was also thinking about the associations I have with it. I have been on many backpacking trips into the High Sierra, the Trinity Alps, and the North Cascades among other places, and have awoken on many a cold morning next to an alpine lake, with the sunshine slowly moving down the mountainside to the west while the sun rises behind another mountain ridge in the east. Then, when the actual sunlight reaches my camp, it’s suddenly light, and warm. On one of those mornings, as I sat there in the cold the song came to mind for some reason, and now I have the association. So the good song brings up the good memories and the good memories bring up the good song. It’s doubly a touchstone. What touchstones do you have, and how do you link them to reinforce their benefit?

About jamesmatter

Marriage and Family Therapist (MFT) in private practice in San Francisco. I work with adults, adolescents, and couples, with focus on substance use and abuse and co-occurring disorders (having both a mental illness and an addiction).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

